Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – Lunar Chronicles book 2

 


 

Cinder returns in the second thrilling installment of the New York Times-bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother and the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she has no choice but to trust him, though he clearly has a few dark secrets of his own.

As Scarlet and Wolf work to unravel one mystery, they find another when they cross paths with Cinder. Together, they must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen who will do anything to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner.

 

Let me just start by saying, this book was better than I expected.  I decided to read Scarlet mainly because of my friends talking about how good this series was. I had read Cinder (the first book in the series) a couple of years ago and planned on reading the rest of the series, and to be completely honest I almost forgot about this series until my mom read Cinder with her book club. With her reading it reminded me how much I liked Cinder and then I really wanted to read Scarlet. Anyways lets jump into the review…

 

Plot.png

Personally I thought that the plot was a little slow in the beginning, but that could just be me trying to remember what happened at the end of Cinder. The plot did seem to speed up to a more comfortable pace later on.

There was good number of twists and turns in this book. There was a few that I kind of expected, but plenty I didn’t.

I feel like there was just the right amount of romance for this story. Also, the comedy was spot on.

Characters (2)

 

I fell in love with these characters! Well, not all of them, but most of them. I wanted to yell at some of them for certain things (I’m trying so hard to keep this spoiler free).

I personally really like the character Iko. I just really loved the fact that she is a piece artificial intelligence with such a interesting personality. I also liked how she talked about wanting to feel like she was a person and feeling like she was not as alive as when she had an android body.

My favorite interactions between characters were with Cinder and Captain Thorne because they are completely different. First, you have Cinder who is tough and just wants to get straight to the point, but then you have Thorne who wans to flirt with every girl he comes across and is charming and clueless and more carefree than Cinder. They just have some of the funniest scenes in book like..

“A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”

“If by a moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met, then I guess we are.”

…and…

“A captain always knows where his ship is. It’s like a psychic bond.”
“If only we had a captain here.”

I enjoyed most interactions between Scarlet and wolf because they so different and alike at the same time.

Lastly, it is time to talk about the girl the book is named after, Scarlet. Through out the whole book, Scarlet is determined to find her kidnaped grandmother even though no one believes her. I admire her for that. She is very passionate about standing up for what is right and can be a little feisty when it comes to that. She never gave up on her grand-mère even if that meant putting her self right in the way of danger. So, yeah she’s pretty cool.

Writing (2).png

Thank you Marissa Meyer for your amazing writing and all the emotions it makes me feel.

I give this book 5 thumbs up! I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to get my hands on Cress.

TheEnd (2).png

Until next time,

Allie_signature (2).png

Leave a Reply

