Top 5 Wednesday #1| Aka my return to blogging!

Hello, I’m BAAAAACCCCCK! I’ve finally decided to return to blogging and doing this thing for real this time! Anyway back to your regularly scheduled post…

It is once again that day of the week where booktubers and book bloggers of all kinds come together to discuss their top 5 picks on a common topic, Top 5 Wednesday. If you would like to join the lovely group of people who are a part of T5W, click here to join the Goodreads group and you can see some of the current members and topics.

This weeks theme is Favorite SFF Cover Art. This topic is a crossover with the BooktubeSFF awards. If I’m being honest I had not heard about these awards until this topic, but I must say, they sound really cool. If you are like me and may not be sure what this means here is an excerpt from the BooktubeSFF tumblr page:

SFF stands for science fiction and fantasy, and the BooktubeSFF community are those of us within booktube who focus our reading on those genres.

The BooktubeSFF Awards took place for the first time in 2015. The goals of the award are:

1) To provide another avenue for the BooktubeSFF community to share, read, and discuss our favorite literary works published in the previous calendar year.

2) To recognize works the BooktubeSFF community believes are exceptional.

There are five award categories in the BooktubeSFF Awards: best novel, best young adult novel, best middle grade novel, best short work, and best graphic work.

Cool, right? Anyways, back to the topic. This week I will be showing off five of my favorite science fiction and fantasy covers. So without further ado, lets begin! (By the way these are in no particular order.)

1. Iluminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 

Ughhh… this cover is just so awesome. The jacket its self is pretty with all the orange cloudy stuff (great description, am I right? XD). Buuuttt, what makes this cover super cool is the actual cover.  I have never seen anything like it. Its just so… ugh… I have no words.

 

2. The Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows Duology

    I chose both books in the duology because I could simply not choose just one. My favorite part of both covers is how the wings of the crow form the buildings along the bottom. It is a really cool effect because you don’t necessarily see it at first. I also really like the color schemes of both.

3. The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

The Thousandth Floor

    Although I did not really enjoy this book, this cover is beautiful. It is a little simple, but its simplicity is what makes it one of my favorites. I also really love the font of both the title and the authors name. The way that the gold stands out from the black is so pretty. Oh, and in person the cover is really shiny, which just makes me like it more.

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red_Queen_book_cover

     Red Queen’s cover is somewhat simple, but that is why I like it. The light background, black writing, and silver crown contrast beautifully with the red. I also think that once you realize that the red is blood dripping from the crown, it makes the cover more meaningful.

5. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

FBAWTFT

    Technically this is a screenplay but, its fantasy and one of my all time favorite covers. The way that the dark blue and gold contrast is really pretty, especially since the gold is shiny. Also the intricate designs of the beasts are just so… I have no words that haven’t already been said. Overall it is just a really beautiful cover.

Well, there you have it folks! Five of my favorite Science Fiction and Fantasy covers!

Until next time,

Allie_signature (2)

 

 

 

One comment

  1. allonsythornraxx · May 4

    Yesss the FBAWTFT cover is stunning, I can’t wait to see the covers for the next screenplays! 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

